The Board for Certification of Genealogists consists of fifteen trustees and a professional executive director. All trustees are certified and all serve without compensation. BCG’s associates elect one-third of the trustees each year.

The executive committee officers (president, vice-president, secretary, treasurer, and member at large) are elected annually by the trustees. The most recent past-president willing to serve is an ex officio member of the executive committee for one year after leaving office.

Trustees serve three-year terms and may only serve for three consecutive terms. Former trustees regain eligibility to serve after two years.

Board of Trustees

President Richard G. Sayre, FUGA, CG, CGL
Vice-President Stefani Evans, CG
Secretary Patricia Lee Hobbs, CG
Treasurer LaBrenda Garrett-Nelson, JD, LL.M., CG
Member at Large Judy G. Russell, JD, CG, CGL
Trustee Laurel T. Baty, CG
Trustee Jeanne Larzalere Bloom, CG
Trustee Judy Kellar Fox, CG
Trustee Michael Grant Hait, CG, CGL
Trustee Alison Hare, CG
Trustee Debra S. Mieszala, CG
Trustee David S. Ouimette, CG, CGL
Trustee Nancy A. Peters, CG
Trustee Allen R. Peterson, CG
Trustee Karen Stanbary, CG

General Counsel to the Board

Michael S. Ramage, JD, CG

Executive Director

Nicki Peak Birch, CG

Board for Certification of Genealogists
P.O. Box 14291
Washington, DC 20044

Appointments and Committees

BCG’s president, the board of trustees, or executive committee appoints committees, assistant officers, managers, or delegates as necessary. Appointments include:

ACTION List Laurel T. Baty, CG
Advertising Manager Sara Anne Scribner, CG
Assistant Treasurer (Vacant)
Booth Coordinator Richard G. Sayre, FUGA, CG, CGL
Conference Committee Stefani Evans, CG, and Julie Miller, CG, CGL
Family History Library Liaison Dawne Slater, CG
Genetic Genealogy Committee Karen Stanbary, CG
Intellectual Property Malissa Ruffner, JD, CG, and LaBrenda Garrett-Nelson, JD, LLM, CG
Marketing Committee (Vacant)
Nominating Committee Nancy A. Peters, CG
OnBoard editor Nancy A. Peters, CG
News Release and Calendar Coordinator Cari A. Taplin, CG
Recommendation of Books and Publications Michael Grant Hait, CG, CGL
Records Preservation and Access Committee Delegates Judy G. Russell, JD, CG, CGL, and David McDonald, D. Min., CG
Social Media Dawne Slater, CG
Springboard Blog Editor Mary O’Brien Vidlak, CG
Webinar Committee Teresa Steinkamp McMillin, CG
Webmaster (Vacant)
Website Committee Judy G. Russell, JD, CG, CGL